PDA

View Full Version : Misleading site names!


Joe
04-04-2006, 09:30 PM
Okay, anyone out there know of a good site, but it has a misleading name? Like:

www.penisland.net

By the sound of the name, you'd think it would be like, an all nude gay beach. But it's not... :watson: Contribute!

Thanks Prae

Praetorian
04-04-2006, 09:32 PM
Hahaha, the moment I saw the title of this thread I thought of penisland.net

Funneh.

By the way, it's .net.

Jon885
04-04-2006, 09:42 PM
I was expecting to see a site about pens.

NERD
04-04-2006, 09:49 PM
www.whitehouse.com

I think everyone made a mistake of visiting this site unintentionally at least once.

Poma
04-04-2006, 10:08 PM
www.whitehouse.com

I think everyone made a mistake of visiting this site unintentionally at least once.

Try the whole Government class of freshmans in highschool. lol This was just around the time people found out what whitehouse.com was :duh:

NERD
04-04-2006, 10:15 PM
Try the whole Government class of freshmans in highschool. lol This was just around the time people found out what whitehouse.com was :duh:

Hah, discovered the site around '97, '98... I'm pretty sure the website gets decent traffic.

Random
04-04-2006, 10:35 PM
like, say, lemonparty is pretty misleading because there are no lemons.
By the same count, though, google is misleading because it really doesn't leave you expecting a search engine, does it?

ClubCrKz
04-04-2006, 10:46 PM
There used to be one containing 'Hit Men', I won't type the link because it will possibly scare some of you, but what made it so misleading at the time was the fact that Hit Man the game was released and people wanted to look up cheat codes. Someone found this site and it got circulated as a joke.

People would be like 'I know this awesome cheat site for Hitman' and would send the link, and it would end up being a Gay Porn site.

It freaked me out at the time being I was like 12 or so, but I guess now I really don't care. Anyways, yea it was funny for it's time...now the site is down I think.

ClubCrKz
04-04-2006, 11:01 PM
like, say, lemonparty is pretty misleading because there are no lemons.
By the same count, though, google is misleading because it really doesn't leave you expecting a search engine, does it?

Actually, neither does Yahoo, but Google sounds more like a Search Engine than any other.

But if you were to tell someone who knew nothing about it but about the internet and search engines in generaly, possibly 8 out of 10 people would really just be clueless about it.

Random
04-04-2006, 11:05 PM
Yahoo sounds like a porn site :/

NERD
04-04-2006, 11:08 PM
Yahoo sounds like a porn site :/

So does Dogpile. AltaVista too, maybe?

Random
04-04-2006, 11:10 PM
Common, AltaVista basically *is* a porn site.

NERD
04-04-2006, 11:14 PM
Common, AltaVista basically *is* a porn site.

Shouldn't that be Come on? Because it makes no sense otherwise.

Psh, AltaVista had its moment in limelight before Google came out of nowhere... It was a decent site for five seconds.

Kuri
04-04-2006, 11:44 PM
www.jagaimo.com/duck

That one's just weird.. not that misleading

Angelyne
04-04-2006, 11:56 PM
I was going to post www.nice-tits.org, but the site doesn't exist anymore :(

I'll settle for Great Tits (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Great_Tit) instead.

Frankey-eh
04-05-2006, 02:25 AM
http://www.whollycrap.com/

MNJetter
04-05-2006, 02:42 AM
um.........okay, I didn't see a warning label on the thread, but judging from the contents of what people are talking about, I'd better ask before I get myself fired....are these links work-safe?

NERD
04-05-2006, 02:44 AM
Everything except for whitehouse.com is safe.

KelliShaver
04-06-2006, 05:38 AM
don't forget:

expertsexchange.com
therapistlocator.com
molestationnursery.com
whorepresents.com

l337moomoo
04-06-2006, 05:47 AM
www.whitehouse.com

I think everyone made a mistake of visiting this site unintentionally at least once.

Awww I wanted to say that one, well I stumbbled apon www.surfboarding.com or maybe it was www.surfboard.com but it was suprising :eyepop:

shimanotaka
04-06-2006, 05:52 AM
...and http://www.gotahoe.com/ can be a bit confusing.

gyoza
04-06-2006, 10:39 AM
don't forget:

expertsexchange.com
therapistlocator.com
molestationnursery.com
whorepresents.com

WIN!

Um, there's a disabled organization in Singapore called These Abled People, and have a website with that same address. When you type it into the toolbar it looks like The Sea Bled People.

But it's not pervy so I suppose it's not funny. :(

Cupid
04-06-2006, 12:24 PM
www.outpostnine.com

There is no outpost in sight, let alone nine of them.

Inigo_Montoya
04-13-2006, 10:39 AM
Similarly, who knows what to expect from a name like http://www.homestarrunner.com/?

It's not one you're just going to find by accident...